Concert series Chamber ensembles of NOSPR

Chamber ensembles of NOSPR

2015-2016 NOSPR Chamber Series

In this season the NOSPR chamber series will host many interesting events. The favourable reception it received last season and the excellent acoustics of the hall have inspired chamber musicians to expand their repertoire and to experiment with the lineup of the orchestra. This has enabled them to turn to works rarely performed but because of their artistic value — by all means worth remembering.

The Chamber Series opens the new season on 9th October 2015 with a concert of a sextet under Rafał Zambrzycki-Payne, violinist and concertmaster. The string trio (Zambrzycki, Joanna Tesarczyk and Łukasz Frant) will be joined by clarinetist Aleksander Tesarczyk, French horn player Tadeusz Tomaszewski and pianist Joanna Galon-Frant. The audience will be treated to Sextet by Krzysztof Penderecki (written in 2000) and Sextet in C Major, excellent but almost unknown in Poland, by Hungarian composer Ernő von Dohnányi, with clear influences of Brahms and jazz of the 1930s. On 29th October 2015, wind section musicians — Łukasz Zimnik (flutist), Maksymilian Lipień (oboist), Bartosz Pacan (clarinetist), Damian Lipień (bassoonist) and Krzysztof Tomczyk (French horn player) — with two pianists — Agnieszka Kopińska and Piotr Kopiński — will present a monographic programme comprising works of Francis Poulenc, a French composer and a member of the group Les Six. A similar lineup, for many years well known to the audiences of the NOSPR subscription concerts — Maria Grochowska (flute), Piotr Pyc (oboe, English horn), Roman Widaszek (clarinet), Marek Barański (bassoon), Kinga Tomaszewska (violin) and Dagmara Niedziela (piano) — will delight the listeners during Denmark Days, on 19th November 2015, in a concert commemorating the 150th birth anniversary of Carl Nielsen and Jean Sibelius. The two events will be linked not only by the lineup but also by Hommage a Francis Poulenc, a work by Norwegian composer Trygve Madsen (born 1940).

A new repertoire will be presented by the excellent AdAstra Trio, featuring Anna Szabelka (violin), Joanna Galon-Frant (piano) and NOSPR cello concertmaster Łukasz Frant. On 12th December 2015, they will treat the audience to works by two Russian composers: Lera Auerbach and Dmitri Shostakovich. The Second Piano Trio in E minor by the latter, written during the Siege of Leningrad, belongs to the top pieces in the history of the piano trio genre. On 17th March 2016, the musicians will also present a sample of their impressionist repertoire: Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel and Gaspar Cassadó. Works for the same lineup (piano trios by Frank Bridge, Frank Martin and Robert Schumann) will be performed by Rafał Zambrzycki-Payne, Adam Krzeszowiec and Anna Krzeszowiec on11th February 2016, while clarinet trios, including Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Kegelstatt Trio, will be presented by Aleksander Tesarczyk (clarinet), Joanna Tesarczyk (viola) and Joanna Galon-Frant (piano) on 5th May 2016.

The NOSPR String Sextet under concertmaster Piotr Tarcholik will continue to delight the audience in the coming season. To the core repertoire for such ensembles (Peter Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence and Louis Spohr’s Sextet, op. 140, planned for 17th December 2015), they will add a chamber version of the famous Metamorphosen by Richard Strauss (25th February 2015).

Robert Schumann’s Andante and Variations, op. 46, will certainly become an event of the season — a work written for an unusual lineup of two pianos, two cellos and a French horn is on the programme for 28th January 2016. This season’s highlights include also Piotr Kopiński and Agnieszka Kopińska’s two piano concert on 23rd June 2016, in which they will present the history of quarter-tone music. Earlier, on 12th May 2016, the pianists — in a quartet with percussionists — will perform selected fragments of Igor Stravinsky’s Petrushka and George Crumb’s Makrokosmos. American music, rather little known in Poland, will also be presented on 10th December 2015 by a brass quintet — the programme comprising works by James Stephenson and Kevin McKee.

The new season will also feature well-known and universally appreciated repertoire, including Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and Astor Piazzolla’s Estaciones Porteñas, both to be presented on 31st March 2016 in versions for violin solo (Zambrzycki-Payne) and chamber string orchestra under Marek Toporowski. On 21st April 2016, unjustly forgotten works of Polish composers will be rediscovered by Four Strings Quartet, accompanied by Greek-born pianist and a friend of the ensemble Theodosia Ntokou. On 9th June 2016, Krzysztof Waloszczyk will present a repertoire for harp and chamber ensemble, comprising works by French composers. The Quintet which in the past season closed the NOSPR Chamber Series, composed of musicians of various wind sections, will turn to sextets with piano by Antonín Dvořák, Aleksander Tansman and Ludwig Thuille on 28th April 2016. At the closing of the season (30th  June 2016), the chamber orchestra will be joined by the NOSPR percussionists. Their original programme will surely draw many enthusiasts of unconventional musical arrangements.

Beside the chamber series of concerts, a group of NOSPR musicians will also be involved in The Soldier's Tale, a joint production by the Silesia Theatre in Katowice and the NOSPR Chamber Orchestra. This folk tale, with music by Igor Stravinsky, will be presented on 3rd March 2016.
See you in the chamber hall!
[Aleksandra Konieczna]

date details subscription